The Boy and a Wolf.

The boy strolled through the woods where the trees seemed as endless as the ocean. Light spilled through the trees and tinted the trail with warm hues of orange. He had no recollection of how he got there nor who he was. With each step the boy’s eyes lit up in wonder and curiosity. Upon his path was a wolf calmly sitting in front of the boy. Its fur resembled that of ash and its eyes glistened like the sea.

“Excuse me wolf, but would you show me the way out of here?”

There was no answer. The wolf continued to stare deeply at the boy where at this moment—time became still and there was no distinction between reality or dream—every brown leaf that fell from the trees felt ceaseless like the rain.

“It’s okay I’ll just ask another wolf along the way.” The boy shrugged and began to walk passed the wolf.

“I may be a nameless wolf just like any other thousands of wolves. But I can be unique because in your heart, you have the ability to make a wolf like me named.”

The boy turned and met the eyes of the wolf as the gusting winds that spun around them carried off the brown leaves into the very far side of this world.

11 Comments on “The Boy and a Wolf.

    • You know, I’ve been wondering whether or not to continue this story. When I wrote it, I was not intending to finish. I purposefully left it as a cliff hanger to produce a dreamlike mood to this piece. But who knows, maybe I will continue it. Thanks for dropping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Saw your post in The Community Pool and figured I’d stop by and check out your blog. I’m glad I did, a pretty neat story! Also like your pictures of the Japanese and Chinese gardens, they’re mesmerizing to look at.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello, thank you so much. I appreciate you stopping by! I also took a look at your blog and really liked how you have such a diversity of categories. I find it really dynamic and entertaining 🙂 Keep up the great work!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

