Silence In The Morning.

now
Ever since Spring semester started I’ve been trying to wake up earlier, fix myself a simple breakfast, and brew a cup of coffee each morning. I think it’s been good for me because it gives me time to think as I give myself up to its silence. There are things I find during this time. Sometimes, I uncover peace and other times grief is quick to greet me. To be completely honest, ever since the start of this new year I’ve been quite depressed. I like to think the number of days in a life is like the number of sand in an hourglass. Eventually, the last grain will fall as we breathe our last breath. We don’t have forever the way our delusional eyes paint for us. Thus, there has to be a sense of urgency with the way we spend our day because it is a day we’ll never get back. Therefore, my lack of productivity, and the lack of attempt to chase what I love has been excruciatingly painful for me. Unfortunately, the clock is ticking and the hours are going by. The past increases as the future recedes, and it feels like my possibilities are slipping away as regrets are collected. Perhaps I’m being dramatic? Yeah, probably.Β This has been on my mind for some time now. I just wish I can get myself to do something about it but strangely, I won’t. I don’t know why.

I haven’t posted in about a month and I haven’t even touched this blog since. I guess my mind has just been elsewhere lately. However, I think it’s about time I start coming back and begin posting regularly. If you guys have read to the end of this long rant, then please write a comment!Β How has your guys’ 2016 been so far?

60 Comments on “Silence In The Morning.

  1. My year has been going well, thanks for asking! Been doing so much more traveling than last year, and I don’t regret it! More to come soon.

    …and I look forward to your next post. Welcome back! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, I think the start of the year can be tough. I am not sure where you live, but winter with low sunlight and cold weather; keeping us indoors doesn’t help.

    I think you are on the right track with morning space to think. Something I found useful is taking up morning meditation. The headspace app / website from Andi Puddicombe has a free 10 minute daily meditation course and I always found I feel great after doing it.

    Maybe you will find that a useful practice just before your morning coffee – which sounds lovely ! πŸ™‚

    Alex

    Like

    • I live in the very hot and sunny, Southern California. I always preferred cooler climate.
      But thank you. I appreciate it. It definitely does help. I will check it out. It sounds interesting haha. Thank you for showing me the site. Have a good one, my friend!

      Like

  3. Sorry to hear that you started the year feeling rather blue! But don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll find a way to break out of it πŸ™‚
    I started the year much the same way- my whole life had been turned upside down. But February came and my attitude changed on its own!! I can feel positivity around me and I’m making the most of it. Sending some of it your way!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you! Your comment is very encouraging to me πŸ™‚ I definitely am trying to improve positivity in my life. I’m glad you’re feeling a lot better! I hope it continues to be so πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you put it in an excellent way, it is how I feel every day almost. but I also know that only I can choose to change it, if it doesn’t change then that is down to me and me alone, and yet I struggle to change it, why is that? That is the answer that eludes me.

    Liked by 2 people

      • I knew I didn’t have much to write about, so I chose to do “February Favorites” this month. Every few days I am posting an article from the first two years of my blog. With new readers, many had not seen these articles. It’s turned out to be a fun way to look back on my journey and give myself a break from writing without leaving my readers hanging. And I’ve taken the time off to learn how to use Canva.com to make fun graphics.

        Like

  5. I can empathise with you — it seems as though 2016 has gone off on a pretty rocky start. But press on dude!

    Someone wise once said, “Accept what is, let go of what was and have faith in what will be.” πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I agree that the start of the year is tough, especially when there is a lot that will be changing quite soon. I’ll be graduating from college in a few months so I’ve been job hunting (tons of fun) and I just ended a relationship after almost 5 years. So you’re not alone in feeling stressed out. But just remember you have friends out there who you can confide in and who will support you.

    It was good to hear something from you after all this time by the way. I always look forward to reading your posts and seeing your pictures. Thanks for coming back to the blog-sphere πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow it must have been very tough for you. I can only imagine the kind of pain you must be enduring. I’d like to encourage you to keep your head up and continue to persevere. I’m sure there’s always light at the end of the tunnel.

      And thank you for your meaningful comment. This actually really made my day. Thank you for your support πŸ™‚ I will definitely begin posting again!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. So far the most unproductive year of my life since last March though most of it I have only enjoyed! But now I’ve started to lose sleep over the fear that I might start losing sleep soon! πŸ˜› Lots of things to do and so much of distraction around. Wish there was a button to switch on the productivity thingy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. For the longest time I did nothing about it either even as time went by. Then I decided I am tired of living in regret. Time to do stuff!

    The phrase, “the past increases as the future recedes”, I love it.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Such a great read John! I am glad you gave me some feedback because now I have a new blog to follow. Love your writing style and the topic gave me pause for thought. Can’t wait for your next post πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Can comprehend exactly how that feels. Sometimes a whole day goes by without any sense of accomplishment and at days end when i review that time i pray for a better one tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually, this particular photo I did not take haha. Due to the fact that I haven’t been able to post for so long means I also haven’t been able to take any pictures. So for this post, it is not my own. But maybe I should take a picture of my actual morning coffee with my camera haha.

      Like

  11. Don’t check out. You were one of the first to help me as I was starting on my blogging journey. While we all need moments of silence, I suppose we can’t dwell there. We need feedback. Sometimes I just need to ask someone else, am I looking at this right? We were not made to live isolated lives. Stay connected. I’m glad you have resurfaced.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wow thank you. Your comment is very encouraging to me. I really appreciate such thoughtfulness. I definitely agree with you. We were not meant to live this life alone. I certainly will begin to post again so stay tuned! I hope to continue our interactions πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  12. Hang on in there. I know life can be tough but so are you. So far this year my best friend has been admitted to hospital twice, both for suicide attempts. Each time I receive a message, which says roughly the same thing, but the fear never dulls. ‘I’m so so sorry, I love you, never forget that.’ That’s the hardest message to receive and because she lives on the other side of the world to me, I can’t contact her easily, so I spend days in limbo, waiting to hear if the person I love most is still with us or not.

    So although mental health hurts, it hurts everyone at some point, and you are not alone. Reach out for help and love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I deeply appreciate this comment. I’m sorry to hear your situation. It must be very difficult for you. I really do mean it when I say that I hope things turn out well for not just her, but for the both of you guys. My love goes out to you both.

      I am definitely striving for a more positive mentality and it’s been helping. Although I do struggle with depression, I can’t find myself going to such extents such as suicide (thank goodness I’m too scared for that). But anyways, thank you again. You’ve definitely brought a smile to my face.

      Liked by 2 people

  13. John, I am so glad you are back to blogging and I came across your post in Community Pool. I love what I have seen and want to spend more time exploring your site because you are a true inspiration. You capture pure beauty in your photos and writing. I think writing is a way for our hearts to communicate. It is a great way to get things out that have been locked up inside, desperately wanting to come out. Write on….Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thank you! That really means a lot to me. I’m glad I’m back as well. It’s been a long time and I miss posting. But the biggest thing I enjoy about blogging is the fact that I can interact with people. It brings me great joy. Therefore, I deeply appreciate your comment. So thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ve been trying to effect some major life and career changes, so my year’s been really slow to kick off. It’s good to remind ourselves to seize the day because it’s as you say – we won’t be here forever. Thanks for that reminder, and hope things are looking up for you by now. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome. Yeah, I can definitely relate to you. Hopefully we both can get the ball rolling huh? I wish you the best of luck my friend and I appreciate your kind words. Cheers indeed.

      Like

  15. So glad to hear you’ll be blogging again! I always enjoy reading your posts and admiring your photography skills. Cheer up bud – better things are coming πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. It’s always humbling to read when someone writes that they are depressed, or sad. It takes a lot from a person to look into themselves and draw out those emotions, let alone write about it. The sense of urgency you describe is almost fatal I think, to people with creativity inside. Well, we all have creativity, some of us just don’t tap into it…but for those of us who have, when we feel stifled, I know an inexplicably deep sadness can overtake us. I think you right about it pointedly, and I’m glad coffee helps. It always does! I wouldn’t go as far as to say embrace your sadness, but sometimes when I’m down I like to remind myself that sadness and happiness are two one sides of the same coin. One feeling is unpleasant, but you learn and grow, you feel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for that. I appreciate your comment deeply. And you’re definitely right. We always learn and grow from it. Thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  17. My year was off to a rough start with being pushed into classes after a 7 week winter break (my school rocks haha). I’m learning to take it day by day and tackling everything one thing at a time! When things get hard with nursing, I feel so discouraged sometimes. However, that one little thing, whether it’s seeing a new baby being born or a patient saying thank you, really helps remind me why I’m doing this. Maybe you need to find that one thing?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for sharing. I have a lot of friends in nursing programs so I can sort of understand a taste of the kind of stress you must go through. But it’s great to see that you’re passionate about what you do πŸ™‚ I’m sure it definitely helps carry you down the road.
      I have found that one thing, but I guess sometimes the hardship overwhelms me at times and so I get into a very “give up” mentality. Which isn’t healthy, I know haha. But thanks for commenting! It was nice getting to know a little bit about how the beginning of your year was!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. When I was in university it was about the same. I would have to juggle between a part time job and 8h of classes. It was quite a dificult time for me as I felt depressed most of the time. It gets better, don’t worry!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. You write so beautifully. How you have managed to summarize the pain and internal conflict you feel in such a poetic way is a true talent. I often also feel this way, and have also been extremely demotivated lately…weird how we are so many miles away yet experience such similar feelings. I hope everything falls into place soon and you find motivation and happiness πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thank you. You’re very kind. It’s more than I deserve haha. I appreciate it though. It means a lot πŸ™‚

      It certainly is weird haha. I’m definitely trying. I mean, I did write this about a month or so ago. Since then, I’ve been working on a lot of things and I think I’m feeling better. I also hope things fall into place for you as well. I wish you the best of luck πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Hello John, I popped over from Amyloaded after reading your thoughts about the past, present and future. I have a feeling we have bumped into one another before. First, I enjoyed reading your post and can relate to the keen awareness that time is speeding by and there are less opportunities than previously to fulfil our goals, hopes and dreams YET still not doing anything to change that.
    If we are prone to focusing on the negative side of life this feeds our depression. I pray you will resolutely steer your thoughts towards those things which are lovely, life-enhancing and noble.
    Second, I am amazed that even though you say you’ve been away from your blog, your followers and visitors reward you with so many comments. Do you know how precious and wonderful that is? You must share your secret for building a community that interacts with such interest.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

