Disillusionment.

Notepad, laptop and coffee cup on wood table

Hey everyone! I’m sorry for not posting for such a long time. School has seriously been kicking me in the butt. I thought after a few tests that I had I was able to breathe, but I was wrong. In fact, I don’t see myself realistically finding a moment to breathe until this semester is actually over (which is quite unfortunate because I feel like I’m not able to what I want such as blogging, taking pictures, etc).

This week, much like the last time I posted, was made up of similar events. I studied, studied, and yeah, studied some more. I’m quite exhausted but in between all the studying, I’ve been able to slip in some time to journal. It sort of helped me stay sane–almost like my tool to escape becoming disillusioned. I’ve been journaling how I’m doing, how I’m feeling, things that’s happened, plan future events, etc.

Speaking of future events, I know I haven’t been able to post up anything interesting but around December, once I end school, I will be traveling and taking a lot of pictures. I can’t wait! I’m already anticipating the excitement. That’s how I’ll be spending my holidays! How about you guys? Thanksgiving and Christmas is right around the corner. How are you guys going to spend the holidays as this year comes to and end? Please leave a comment below because I’d love to know you guys more! Till then, cheers!

48 Comments on “Disillusionment.

  1. At Christmas there is loads to do at my church with all the extra services. Particularly for me this year, as I have written and am directing the church nativity! It’s fun and I love working with little kids, but it’s still pretty hard work getting it together! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you found sanity in the pages of a journal. It’s amazing how therapeutic just writing (or typing) out your thoughts is. Hope school goes well. Graduated 5 years ago but I still remember the clutter and mayhem! Feel for you, man! Best of luck πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ll be spending the traditional Thanksgiving day working, as someone has to serve turkey to the little old ladies of the the world. However, I think I will be able to celebrate properly with my folks the following Monday. Keep up the good work at school!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know the exact feeling; I also had a bunch of midterms recently and I thought maybe.. just maybe I could have some time to myself but NOPE! A load of assignments decides to unleash on me and so I’m thrown back into my sad corner of doom once again.
    Not long till the semester’s over and we can enjoy the freedom again!! Best of luck with everything πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m not sure what I’ll do for Thanksgiving and the holidays… but I can tell you that I am extremely excited for those breaks!! I “had time” last week to blog and renew everything on my blog, but then all the studying I left off came back to bite me this week. I’m drowning!! Haha. But it’ll be the weekend soon, and then thanksgiving!
    Good luck with the end of the semester! Not easy, but there’s light at the end of it all!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahhh…the upsides and downsides of education!!! Take it from someone who’s been there John – You’ll get through it…with a smile on your face…the fun begins when you leave school and hit that fork in the road – work or uni ?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow, almost done with school?! That’s great! I look forward to your next posts on your post-grad life, as well as your travels, if you decide to go (travelers, unite!).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I can definitely relate to not having time to yourself! I’m glad you’re taking time to journal… sometimes doing things like that is the only thing that can keep you sane!

    I’m going home for the holidays on the 20th… coming back for New Years Eve though. I’m hoping two weeks at home will be okay, but if it isn’t then I can spend New Years with people I love here. We’ll see how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I so get you. Studying is really hard. And constantly doing it is really a mood killer if you ask me. I mean I love learning about new things and getting better, but I really need that me-time, I need those moments to myself and I really take them, if itΒ΄s “only” a 20-minute workout or a 20 minute walk… otherwise I donΒ΄t know where IΒ΄d be… Maybe you should try just taking a few minutes before going to bed to read a book or something, or taking a small a walk. Just so you can breathe… without breathing, thereΒ΄s no life..:-)
    What do you study? And where are you going to? That sounds so exciting and fun. IΒ΄m so happy for you. I think this will be really worth it, you really deserve it, after all that hard work. I imagine that’s whats keeping you going. Really amazing! Have fun! I want to hear all about it. Keep posting or do a recap at the end, whatever works for you!
    For Christmas IΒ΄m staying home. We have this tradition, that every christmas the whole family getΒ΄s together to celebrate. ThereΒ΄s no Christmas without family! How do you celebrate?
    Oh and for New Years IΒ΄ll be on top of a mountain, hopefully covered in snow and horse-back-riding, skiing, taking long walks and just relaxing and breathing. πŸ™‚ And at the end of this month, IΒ΄ll be able to do sport again, which IΒ΄m looking forward to so much!( I can only do a little bit Β΄cause my arm is broken…Shit happens;-) but I can live with it) wow, that was a lot…I kind of got carried away, I hope you donΒ΄t mind.
    Happy Holidays (in advance) and good Luck with the exams!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Wow, thank you for the lovely comment. I really do appreciate you taking the time πŸ™‚
      And yes, studying is a mood-killer and I really do need that “me” time. Which is why I try my best to squeeze time in for that. The things that I do for “me” time are reading books, exercising, playing music, and journaling (as of right now because I don’t have full freedom just yet haha).
      I’m studying English and I’m not sure where I’m going to go. I’m at a crossroads between becoming a english professor or being a photographer of some kind. Two different fields, I know haha. I guess I’m still trying to find who I am and where exactly my place is in this universe.
      And awesome! I hope you have a wonderful time with your family πŸ™‚ I celebrate by having all the family members come and have dinner together and then I usually go out to meet my friends. Your New Year’s seems like it’s going to be exciting and adventurous! Have fun! I’m glad to hear you’ll be relaxing haha.
      Don’t worry, I don’t mind long comments. I love interacting with my followers πŸ™‚ Happy Holidays to you too!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Sorry but I had to interrupt because I totally am feeling what both of you are feeling! To make things worse, my real holiday only starts next June!! I’m finding myself with exams every other month (scattered throughout it!) because that’s how the system in my uni works. It’s slowly making me upset and burnt out: I’m having a hard time coping with my studies and I miss just having that me time where I can create and write. I really can’t wait for my 1 week break in January!

        Liked by 1 person

      • No worries on the interruption πŸ™‚ Talking to you guys is always a joy. And I see. It must be tough. Yeah, definitely. I’m getting my butt kicked by school right now. I can really agree with you on how it makes me burnt out and how it’s so hard coping with the studies. Just like you, I’m also really looking forward to seeing my break in January. I wish you the best of luck. I really do mean it. Let’s finish this semester strong!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I know this feeling all too well! My life consists of studying, working, and more studying!! But just keep your head up, it’ll work itself out! Some days it seems that school is so draining that you do not have the energy to put forth towards your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I have weddings lined up end of year to attend. Some will have to miss others I’ll attend.
    There’s also a bit of travel with Nigeria that I hope to do. And yeah maybe take some pictures too.
    And then annoy my family as my holiday duty lol.
    That’s kinda all.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hang in there, you can do it!! I’m not in school anymore but filling out tons of forms and dealing with stupid health-related paperwork for my family. It’s odd how emotionally exhausting this boring stuff can be….I haven’t felt like posting in a while either. Where are you planning to travel to? πŸ™‚

    I’m just gonna cook a big dinner with my sister for my family, since many of us are in the same city. Hopefully no one makes “experiments” this year because those meals never end up tasting good! So, lots of Chinese & Filipino food! I’m trying to decorate for Christmas, my first time, and I don’t know what I’m doing. So far I am shopping for quarter (wedge-shaped) Christmas trees, because I live in a small apartment πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for this comment. It’s always a joy to read about other people’s lives. And thank you. I am trying hard to push through. It is very emotionally tiresome. I’m planning to travel to Japan and Korea πŸ™‚ Quite excited for it!
      Awesome! A great thing about holidays is being able to eat! And yeah those “experiments” never do end well haha. Goodluck on your decorations and cooking dinner. Happy holidays!

      Like

  13. Hi John,

    I was checking out your blog after you gave me advice in the community pool and just wanted to let you know that I love how it looks, I love your writing style as well as the fact that you take your photos (I’m so jealous of that hahah)

    Keep doing what you’re doing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

