As October Goes.

Can you guys believe it’s already the middle of October? I remember the beginning of this year like yesterday and now we’re already almost done with 2015. Just like that–another year–another chapter in my life draws near to an end. This month and even last month has been quite rough for me. It feels like the more I learn about myself, the more confused I feel. I don’t quite know what I’m doing in my life and why I do them. Everyday feels like a routine with no heart behind my work. Sometimes, I feel like my life is a deep well. I won’t know what’s at the bottom because it’s too dark. I’m left confused and questioning what could possibly be. The only thing I can do is imagine by what comes floating up to the surface every once in a while, but even then it’s always never the same thing. I guess I’m just feeling very frustrated and unsure of everything.

What stage of life are you guys currently in? What are you guys living for?

46 Comments on “As October Goes.

  1. It’s normal to feel lost, even distressed, at this point in our lives. Like you, I have felt the same way, and even after college with a job and everything, things are still uncertain. At this point in my life, I know what I’m doing with work. But I am aware that it’s only temporary, and that soon enough, I will be back to square one. Don’t worry- you’re not alone in the struggle!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. One thing that helps to bring joy every day to my life is making time for something I love. Even if that means cutting out something that you feel you need to get done but don’t. Make time to do something you love, that might help.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think a lot of people can relate to this feeling (I know I can with only a few months left of college for me). Something my school does every semester is to bring therapy dogs to the school for the students to chill with for a few hours and I find a little furry love always makes things feel a lot better and helps me to destress and reenergize a bit. Maybe if you have a friend with a dog, you could see about dog sitting for a bit or even volunteer with animals to get some of those good vibes from a furry friend. that’s just what helps me the most when I’m out of sorts

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I spent the two years of college feeling like this…thanks to some extra motivation, I then decided that every morning, I would look in the mirror and ask myself, “do I want to do what I am about to do today” if I answered no a a few days in a row, I would change it. Since then, I have changed my major, my job, and my goals. And I have a much better feel of where I am headed. Hope this helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There is a saying that: “Everything will be okay in the end”. Hope that you can soon find a way to get rid of this feeling. Relax and follow your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I really appreciate that. I’ve just been confused of what exactly to do. Perhaps some soul searching will do me some good. Thanks again.

      Like

  6. I hear ya John. This state of mind you are in at the moment means you have finally awaken; you are conscious now…fully aware of your existence and surroundings – and it’s not enough for you. Looks like it’s time create a new spark and explore the world outside your bubble. Change is always a good first step…

    Like

    • You’re right. Perhaps stepping out of my comfort zone and experiencing something new would help. Thanks for the advice and comment I appreciate it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I echo your thoughts, John. It’s so easy to feel lost and confused, without a purpose. Recently I have somehow managed to set up a little teaching business for myself, and in turn have managed to get a car. Life has become so busy that I have no time to question why the world is moving on ahead while I struggle to catch up. It sounds to me like you are at the deep breath before the plunge, as Gandalf would say! I wish you well, and hope these feeling give way to something more solid 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That really means a lot. I’m truly grateful to have a community here on WordPress. I really do appreciate every word you just said. Truly, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. It’s nice to hear someone else is feeling how I feel! I just graduated university and I’m doing what I’m “supposed” to do, but I’m not sure it’s what I want to do… even though I spent five years driving myself to this. But that’s life isn’t it? You’re not stuck. You just need to figure out what makes you happy and try something new 🙂 even if it’s as simple as taking pictures! I’m going to try the same. You never know what life will bring you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I feel like I’m in the same place. I’m doing what I’m supposed to do but just doesn’t feel solid.
      I appreciate your advice. Your words are very encouraging. Truly, thank you.

      Like

  9. Pingback: Entering “Real” Life: Doubt & Certainty | Flight & Scarlet

  10. My dad always tells me: “It’ll all work out.” Sometimes it takes a while, but eventually it always does. I feel the way you’re feeling all the time, so just know that you aren’t alone!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m a Christian and I think that I’m finally finding that my purpose here is to serve God, not live to please myself. As I “try” to serve Him, I find that He (God) is bringing more clarity to my life. The fact that you are posing the question tells me you’re heading in a good direction.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I appreciate the comment. And yeah, I think I’ve been just really confused on what God wants me to do right now. I mean, I’m fulfilling my responsibilities but I just feel sort of lost as to why I’m doing them. I want to do what the Lord wants me to do and I’m not quite sure if what I’m doing right now is EXACTLY what He wants me to do. I think I just need to pray more haha. Thanks again.

      Like

      • I know what you’re saying. Sometimes it can be frustrating when we can’t see where God is leading. I usually cry and whine to Him, telling Him how dark the path before me is, and that I need to see where I’m going. As soon as I see a little bit, there is yet more darkness, but we just have to trust Him and keep walking with Him.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re definitely right. Even when my eyes can’t see, I must trust in the Lord with all my heart. Thank you. I really am thankful for your encouraging words.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Life is full of ups and downs, and things we cant explain but as long as your living,, u have every reason to give thanks to God for where you are now. Your not alone,,, i go through stuffs, but smile through it,,,,, by the way,,Nice photos,, it looks similar to one of my paintings,,, I will post it on my blog in a few minutes. Its titled “sleeping boats”

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Entering "Real" Life: Doubt & Certainty - Flight & Scarlet

Leave a Reply

