Intangible Emotions.

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a7 preset

I took these pictures when I was in Portland, Oregon. I visited an enormous bookstore there called: “Powell’s Bookstore.” One of the biggest bookstores I’ve ever seen. It was definitely beautiful and of course, I bought myself a book. Who wouldn’t right? As I was waiting in line and looked at the word “litmosphere”, I had no idea the word existed. The more I waited in line, the more I pondered its meaning. As you can tell, there’s two definitions and I found myself attracted to the second one. Don’t you guys ever feel that way in certain places? Whether it’s a coffee shop, a quiet park, or even at the beach. Have you guys ever stopped at a certain scenery and thought to yourself, “I could seriously read a book right now”?

I think the reason we do, or at least for me, is because I tie the beautiful and dreamlike scenery to the surrealism of a story I find within the pages of a book–and actually vise versa. It’s strange how my mind works. It doesn’t even have to be scenery and it doesn’t even have to be a literary mood. There’s an intangible emotion that’s pulled from an intangible atmosphere–the kind that makes us say, “ahh..” and then immediately our mind wanders into some surreal world within our beings. I think that’s why I enjoy reading books, writing, nature, photography, music, traveling, etc. They all have this common unspoken–undefinable trait that allures me. Perhaps litmosphere is the word to describe the undefinable mood when it comes to literature.

If so, then what are the words that describe all the other intangible–surreal moods? When do you guys usually feel this type of mood?

55 Comments on “Intangible Emotions.

  1. Completely agree. I find bookstores electric to the point where I just want to lie down on the floor and soak it in. That may also come from never being able to choose just one book…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Very interesting thoughts. I’m constantly fascinated by the way the mind makes seemingly unrelated correlations but how they always feel right. I’m not too familiar with the word litmosphere but I can definitely identify with its meaning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. The mind is truly a weird thing.
      I’m also not familiar with the word either. But definitely relatable. Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

      Like

  3. Interesting word and concept. I don’t think I ever get an overwhelming desire to read a book though, In fact I don’t read as much as I would like, My thing is more around music and photography, sadly (in some ways) more the listening to rather than creation off, and finding of rather than actually taking. Those two places are where I get my emotional pull from.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The beach is best for walking on with the wind blowing in your face – good for inside your head. Looking and observing on the beach and maybe a little drawing or Tai Chi makes for a perfect day – but in Wales the weather is not always on your side.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I’m going to be putting that on my favourate word list. 🙂
    I was actually discussing amazing words with family members earlier today and I think I’ll have to restart that conversation just to bring up this word.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Good question. Personally, I find gloomy and rainy days to be my kind of litmosphere. Although I don’t think I’ve ever done this, it seems nice to huddle up in a corner with a blanket and a good read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also really love gloomy and rainy days as well. There’s some secret love for rainy weather that I guess you and I can’t seem to define haha. I’m glad we share the same interest.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. John – I want to be in Litmosphere and Portland, Oregon seems a perfect place – I imagine coolness, comfort, and just enough darkness to make the curling up in a bookstore chair a perfect pleasure. Thanks for the read!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your post is interesting. When I read the part: “I bought myself a book. Who wouldn’t right?” I also feel the same way. Every time I go to bookstore, I will buy at least one book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Honestly, I couldn’t agree more! There are just moments in time when it has to happen, and I am glad that there is a word I can now use to describe that feeling…but I love your writing style. Very simple even describing subject that in itself is intangible.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi John,
    I clicked “Follow” and I am also following you on Instagram. You were interested in having your blog added to my Follow to Follow Directory, but I meant that to be a perk for my followers. I took the liberty of adding your Email to the “Subscribe” box. All you have to do is activate it, and I will add you to the Follow to Follow list. I am glad you like my idea. You said you’d follow the honor system. I hope you feel I held up my end since I would appreciate you subscribing to my blog. I will write you on my site as well.
    By the way, you seem to have quite an engaged community here. Congratulations.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I genuinely appreciate that. Would you mind explaining to me how to activate it? I really appreciate it. I think it’s a brilliant concept for bloggers to expand their community and also bring opportunity for bloggers to network with one another. Thank you again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank YOU for trying to follow my blog and your interest in my Follow to Follow Directory.
        You can delete this comment if you need to.
        I put this Email into the subscriber box:
        xjohnchonn@yahoo.com
        Go into your yahoo.com Email. The Email with the activation link should be near the top since I just had it sent to you.
        When you find it, click “subscribe” or “Confirm” or whatever it asks you to click. Then, I will get the notification and add you to the Directory.
        Please write me back and let me know if you have success or more difficulty.
        Thanks so much. You sound like a nice person. So happy to have met you this weekend.
        Janice

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Janice. You’ve been very helpful I truly appreciate it.
        I believe I clicked confirm so it should be done. You’ve been great Janice. You also seem like a wonderful person. I’m glad I finally got to meet you.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Years back I used to keep some book in my handbag and after the work went to the place called “island”, sat under a tree and read or write. Also loved to visit the antique book store and the old library because of the scent of books. I think the most beautiful scent for me is the mixture of scents – an old book and coffee, it maybe should be called “Boocoff” ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

