Crippling Fear.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I was pretty scared standing up here. I have a strange fear of heights so whenever I peered over to the sides and looked down, I felt very unsettled. It felt like at any moment, I would just fall off or the bridge would just collapse. The view was beautiful I can’t deny, but still, the entire time I just wasn’t fully at peace. Just the thought of falling off knowing that it would kill me was frightening. The only thing keeping me from death was my own deliberate choice of not jumping. Isn’t that insane?

As I was thinking those thoughts, I realized how irrational they were. If I were to let those thoughts get any more ridiculous or unreasonable, would I have not walked through this bridge? It makes me wonder. Where is the fine line between trusting reason as reality, or paranoia as reality? Fear really cripples us. Even though this specific case is a little comical, there are many other cases where fear hinders us from reasonable and beautiful things. Fear robs us of joy, experience, and beauty. In my opinion, fear may seem real, but really, it’s just a lie. At the end of the day, the question has to be asked: “Am I going to let my fear stop me from doing what I want to do or what I love?”

To some, this scenario with the bridge may seem ridiculous. To others, that fear may really be hindering. But I would like to ask you guys: “What sort of fears are holding you back today?”

55 Comments on “Crippling Fear.

  1. The first picture is beautiful! Also, I love the idea that fear isn’t real that you play with and muse about in your second paragraph. I would be interested in reading more of your musings about the idea if it’s something you were inclined to expand upon. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. San Francisco’s Golden Gate Bridge? Lovely! It’s been a while since I’ve visited, but its beauty never ceases to astound me!

    And yes, there’s an overwhelming sense of fear and awe when looking down from a vantage point. I experience the same feeling, too. But remember that there’s also a sense of beauty in terror, and that is what makes the experience sublime. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      • Change means going from the familiar to the unfamiliar; what if it becomes so unfamiliar I lose myself and I can’t find my way back? And so often, change is for the worse. I’ll stick with safe and same, for sanity’s sake.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can completely relate. I also get anxiety from unexpected change. It’s definitely scary. But sometimes, venturing to the unknown can possibly be the best thing for us. Something I’ve been learning lately is: making wrong turns, making mistakes, messing up, unwelcome change, stepping out of my comfort shell, etc are all aspects of life. It’s what life is all about and through that, we always learn something. It’s just up to us if we take that and make it into something beautiful or make it into despair.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I can understand that. I’ve just dealt with so much change completely beyond my control, like medical and legal, that I much prefer not changing the things I do control.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah I understand. You must’ve gone through a lot. I hope at the end of the day, you’re still choosing to cling to life and fight.

        Like

  3. the first picture is wonderful !
    I think that fear is just an illusion and it’s just a thought in our heads and also kind of choice we made. I am scared of heights too and I am always thinking what if this plain just falls, what if this bridge just disappear haha 😀
    Fear shouldn’t stop us from doing what we love, it’s just a thought and all we have to do is to make it disappear and think of something beautiful instead.
    Everyday I have fear of losing someone, or of some drastic changes in my life, but I just keep trying to think of something else and it just disappears.

    Nice post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello! Thank you for your kind words I really appreciate it.
      And yeah me too. Fear of losing someone and unexpected change is really scary. Thanks so much for sharing. It’s awesome to see what other people go through.
      I actually also took a look at your blog and fell in love with it 🙂 We have similar interests for traveling! Definitely giving you a follow! I also followed you on instagram 🙂 Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I would be feeling exactly the way you described if i were on the bridge. I had to focus my breathing walking across the Brooklyn Bridge because I felt vertigo the whole time. But it was beautiful and terrifying all the while. I took pictures and admired the scenery but I felt a lot better when my feet hit solid ground.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember use to be afraid of heights. I met this girl who loved roller coaster, and I really wanted to impress her. So I took her to an amusement park and did all the things I knew I would dread. As a result, I overcome my fear of heights. Funny how love makes us do things.
    I love the images. I feel I should scale a building and see what I can see from that perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually have a similar story haha. Except for me, I never got over my fear.
      And yes you should! The scenery is beautiful 🙂 thanks for commenting!

      Like

    • Thanks!
      Parasailing must have been very intense. I wouldn’t be able to do that haha.
      I loved your post! Definitely relates to how I feel about my own post. Great job.

      Like

      • I think I might not want to try parasailing again. But I have been thinking of sky diving…. hoping that it will conquer the fear. I might have fear of heights and fear of a lot of things, but I sure do have hope 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow you’re a lot more brave than I am haha. I would never even consider it because of how afraid I am! I hope you enjoy sky diving when/if you ever do it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh gosh, I would have been panicking on that bridge if I was you. Bridges really scare me, I feel like they are going to collapse even though I know they are sturdy.

    Glad you didn’t let your fears hold you back from doing something you really wanted to 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi John,
    All is good! I received the notification. I will add your blog to the Follow to Follow Directory ASAP. I know ThoughtsCrawler, Esther Ling… maybe we all meet in the Pool! Happy about our connection. Thank you.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hahaha! For me my fear doesn’t necessarily hinder me. Am constantly scared when I cross on overhead pedestrian bridges, I feel like the wind from the cars passing below could knock me off or the bridge might collapse all together so I walk really fast when I use them… Nice picture by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Loved your pictures but even more so your thoughts on fear. When we were on that bridge my oldest daughter picked up my youngest daughter to help her see over the rail. I screamed bloody murder!! All I could see was my youngest tumbling over the side of the bridge – irrational, yes, but felt so real. Great blog John!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That’s a great story. Thank you for sharing it haha. It’s very funny. Good thing nothing like that actually happened! Anyways, thank you again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

