A Healthy Mind, Body, and Soul.

image

It’s already the first week of September. I can’t believe it’s already nearing the end of 2015 when I remember its beginning like it was yesterday. Time is quite scary in this way. Where the moment feels eternal, but when you’re looking in hindsight, it was actually super quick. Sort of makes you take time for granted huh? It truly is fleeting.

This past month has been rather hectic for me. I recently started school and it’s been going well. Something I’m not quite used to. I actually don’t know if I want to continue doing school in SoCal or go out of state. But we’ll see. Aside from school, I’ve actually been trying to cultivate a few disciplines for myself. Something I wanted to give a shot with the new semester setting in and as this year is coming to a close. What these disciplines are actually follows one simple saying:

Strive for a healthy mind, body, and soul.

How I try and do this practically is by respecting myself and doing what I call “loving” myself. For example:

  • Avoid things that plague your mind with junk. Unwanted thoughts. Exposure to toxic material.
  • Eat healthy. Have self control over how much you eat and what you eat. Never eat till you’re completely full, instead eat until you’re content, where it’s just enough.
  • Exercise not to look good, but to feel good. Physically keep yourself fit.
  • Spend time with yourself. Do things you love. Find hobbies and do them.
  • Don’t be too harsh on yourself. Life is all about mistakes we just need to learn and improve.
  • Go look out into the sky, watch the stars, feel the wind, surround yourself in nature.
  • Don’t be afraid to try new things. Life is all about experiences.
  • And of course, accept yourself.

These are just some of the many things I am trying to do and it actually feels great. I’m experiencing a kind of liberty I’ve never felt before and I encourage you all to try and do it. This past month of August has been a month of change and realization for me. Hopefully this month of September will prove to be a beautiful one. What are you guys anticipating for the new month?

8 Comments on “A Healthy Mind, Body, and Soul.

  1. Good philosophical thoughts. Sounds like your school year is off to a good start; I hope you continue to have relatively smooth sailing throughout the year.

    As for myself, I am looking forward to moving to Europe for the next few months; I will be leaving this month. Can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

