A Place of Thoughts.

image
I wonder if people who say, “I know what I’m going to do in life” really do know. I also wonder if finding one’s purpose is the same thing as finding what they love to do. Honestly for me, I feel afraid that I might never know what I want to do. Not that I don’t have any idea or direction, but I wish there was some solid answer I can give myself. I’m at the age now where time runs out and I need to choose–yet I haven’t made one. People always ask me, “What are you majoring in?” and it hurts to tell them that I’m still undecided. Perhaps some sitting and thinking could work but I’ve been doing that for so long now.

I think I’m afraid to choose. If I do, that means I need to stick with it and go down that road, but what if later on it isn’t something that I love? That’s the scary thing about life. Your choices will never be undone–never buried in the layers of the past but rushes over into the present and even the future. The worries suffocate me. If I could just have a concrete answer I would pursue it with every piece of my being. If only, I could know.

12 Comments on “A Place of Thoughts.

  1. I’m afraid of the limitations in choosing. Though I have a pretty clear idea of what I want, I fear choosing one thing that will close a certain door that could help me get to where I think I hope to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can understand where you’re coming from. I don’t believe that people are ever really that decisive in life; things are always bound to come up, which will change and possibly take decisions in completely new directions.

    As for being Undecided, it’s completely relatable. Some people don’t declare their major until after their second year, sometimes taking four or five years to do so. But once you discover it, that’s all that matters. I wish you the best in your journey. 🙂

    Like

  3. I appreciate your honest sharing. It is true that inherent in the process of choosing is the letting go of other options and the possibility of making the “wrong” choice can be scary. I think, at best, we can strive to make the most informed, thoughtful choice possible knowing that we will not get it right every time but not allow fear to keep us trapped in indecision.

    Like

  4. First of all we aren’t limited or we are mostly limited by our thoughts. But I understand your worries and I think you don’t need to get stuck by one thing because the life is about colors and options, diversity and ideas. We are the painters of our lives so paint it with as much color as possible ☺Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

