Train Tracks.

“… And there is the headlight, shining far down the track, glinting off the steel rails that, like all parallel lines, will meet in infinity, which after all is where this train is going.” –Bruce Catton

Unceasing crowds of people arrive, form lines, board the trains in order, and get carried off into some unknown abyss. It’s astonishing to me how it all works. How all these people have places to go, places to return to, never always being in one stagnant place. Just how my thoughts travel ahead of me and my emotions further beyond that. Yet I always feel as though I’ve never left the platform–standing in place where I’ve always been. It seems as though that’s just how my life has always been. When will it be my turn, to board and venture off, away from where I’ve stayed, and to see just where this train will lead me?

Leave a Reply

