Gratitude.

image

It’s surprising how much time has passed.

Whenever I’m in the moment, time is so slow. Every minute that passes feels like it’s followed by a decade before another minute comes. Thus, it makes me think that I can take my time and not rush my important responsibilities. It’s feels as though I’m given the grace to make excuses, and be immature, lazy, and irresponsible. Looking at things in hindsight, I realized how fast it all flew by; I’ll never be able to go back to make up what has been lost. I feel as if there’s an infinite amount of mysterious secrets and time chooses when she wants them to be revealed. But when she does reveal them, they always come with a wise lesson that is to be taught. This time I was given a lesson of gratitude: How often am I really being thankful and appreciative? In all honesty, it’s very rare. In today’s culture, we have a holiday where we celebrate gratitude once a year. Everyone gets the day off from their daily responsibilities like school and work, gather all their friends and families, prepare an extraordinary feast, and voice what they are thankful for around the dinner table. Shouldn’t we be practicing this level of mindfulness and sincerity towards the idea of thanksgiving every day? There are so many blessings that go overlooked and we don’t take the time to be thankful for them.

Here’s what I mean:

I am thankful for the ridiculous fights my parents have because that means I at least have parents in my life.

I am thankful for how much my brother gets on my NERVES because that means I am no longer the only child I was supposed to be.

I am thankful for the clogging sink that never seems to get fixed because that means I have running water.

I am thankful for being able to park WAY in the back of the parking lot instead of a handicap space because it means I’m physically functional.

I am thankful for waking up early every single weekend because it means I can have the honor to serve God’s kingdom.

I am thankful for all the enormous bills we have to pay because that means my family is blessed with living needs being met.

Truly, I mean every word and breath when I say that I am beyond thankful the Lord gives me another day, week, month, and even another year to live and experience the wonderful blessings He’s given to me here on Earth. Thank you Jesus!

Leave a Reply

